Welcome to the “Homestead”, the original home built on 100 Acre Farm. The Homestead was converted to a restaurant in the mid 1980’s and in 2009 underwent refurbishment and reopened for business on 6th January 2010 with a new look and feel as Norfolk Blue Restaurant, Grill and Bar and is the realisation of nearly 5 years of planning and 12 months of refurbishment. The goal being to showcase the quality of beef produced on 100 Acre Farm by Jap and Robyn Menghetti.
In 2001 Robyn’s fascination with some of the local cattle which had distinct blue/grey appearance inspired her to commence an acquisition program for breeding.
Her research revealed from various locals (including Bubby Evans) that they were a distinct heritage herd which had evolved over many years through a combination of the mainstream breeds on the Island including Shorthorn, Angus, Hereford, Red Devon, Friesian, Murray Grey and quite possibly others.
In 2005/6 a breeding program commenced to produce what is today, Norfolk’s own unique breed of cattle called “Norfolk Blue”.
100 Acre Farm is the only property on Norfolk Island whose name and extent are the same today as they were in the 1830’s. In the 1830’s the farm was reached from Kingston by way of County Road and New Farm Roads both of which wound their way up the hill and along the coast.
The farm’s name and location are shown on one of the earliest detailed maps of the Island commissioned in the 1840’s. To the north of the farm were Fothergill’s (Victoria) farm of 80 acres, Burn’s farm of 20 acres and Barney Duffy’s Gully of 54 acres. To the east were Wright’s farm of 14 acres, a small area known as “Nine Acre Piece” which was in fact 11 acres in extent, and Antonio’s farm of some 15 acres.
100 Acre Farm was one of the agricultural areas that supported a population of up to 2000 people during the second settlement, the more severe of the 2 penal settlements.
Across New Farm Road is one of Norfolk Island’s most spectacular and pleasant wilderness areas known as “Hundred Acres”, the name was adopted from that of the farm. Glorious views along the very wild coastline make this 30 to 45 minute walk a must. Formerly know as Rocky Point Reserve (and now 100 Acre Reserve) the area is actually 55 acres, the northern most portion once being an integral part of the farm.
100 Acre Farm originally formed part of the Melanesian Mission established on the Island in the 1860’s. With the relocation of the Mission to the Solomon Islands in the 1920’s, the entire property, minus that immediately surrounding St. Barnabas Chapel, was purchased by the Commonwealth of Australia utilising The Pitcairn Fund. This had been established in London in 1852 for the benefit of the Pitcairn people who had relocated to Norfolk Island in 1856 following an invitation by Queen Victoria.
The Morton Bay figs lining the approaches to the farm are believed to have been planted by the Melanesian Mission in the 1860’s.
Subsequent parcels of land were made available to Norfolk Islanders as crown leases. Mr RHH Nobbs obtained the original lease and was responsible for the construction of “The Homestead”. Over the ensuing years Mr Nobbs acquired parcels of the land gradually restoring “100 Acre Farm” to its original 1830’s size.
100 Acre Farm is the largest contiguous farm on the Island and today, the Homestead provides the perfect setting for us to showcase our beef – Norfolk Blue.